Oracle qAdmin

quasiAdmin short & to the point:

Oracle database
Oracle Fusion Middleware
At a glance or a click
get routine work done easily
monitor
configure
Detect and fix errors

Application administrators are (often) not Oracle administrators but should be able to effectively deal with the complex technology stack (database, middleware.)

Oracle administrators are often forced to complete soul-destroying „click through“ tasks or generate and maintain scripts.

The answer to this problem – quasiAdmin!

quasiAdmin consists of the modules quasiAdmin/DBA (quasiDBA) for database administration and quasiAdmin/MWA (quasiMWA) for the Oracle middleware. With this, all the technology components of an application are concentrated in one tool. This is supplemented by the option of installing software components in all layers or completing maintenance tasks (Quicktasks) for all technology components at a central location.

intuitive user interface
Complete routine tasks efficiently
Show problems – solve with a click
Administration without expert knowledge
Best practice solutions from application support

 

Normally more than one instance exists in the application – the individual instances share the parts of the infrastructure. While quasiAdmin puts the application at the centre of all activities, it supports the application administrator who should also administrate the Oracle technology base „on the side.“

Modular

quasiAdmin is made up of modules so that the components quasiAdmin/DBA or quasiAdmin/MWA can replace the previous products quasiDBA or quasiMWA; existing licences accordingly continue to be valid. It is also possible to licence quasiAdmin so that only selected functional areas are available.

Efficiency through Quicktasks

With quasiAdmin, the current statuses of a production environment can be queried and displayed via the Dashboards. quasiAdmin has the option to integrate Quicktasks in order to be able to quickly react to particular circumstances or carry out recurring tasks. Examples for application scenarios like this are:

  • Deleting temporary folders and log folders
  • Adjustment of parameters (tablespace, heapsize, …)
  • Starting and stopping one or several servers
  • Sharing applications on several servers

A Quicktask contains the execution of one or several work stages on a server. Both preset functions and scripts can be used in this process.

Installation of standards (customization of the report fonts handling in Linux)

 

Who can benefit?

quasiAdmin is not an alternative to Oracle Enterprise Manager, Grid Control or similar administration tools. These are universal tools which provide all possible features and options to solve all possible tasks. However, this means unnecessary complexity, risk and trouble for the application user – quasiAdmin creates efficiency by concentrating on the essentials and predefined standard solutions.

The familiar Oracle tools cannot be used by the end customer in the context of the Oracle Embedded Software License (ESL). quasiAdmin transforms this restriction into a benefit, as the reduction of available options to the necessary minimum leads to more efficiency in administration. quasiAdmin can, however, also provide an advantage for software manufacturers who rely on Oracle even without the ESL restrictions. quasiAdmin is delivered and branded as part of the partner solution – to find out more, visit Offer for Oracle partners.

Versions

quasiAdmin supports database versions11.2.x and 12.1.x as well as the current FMW Version 11g; the 12c support for FMW is in progress.

You can find several further articles in our blog.

Die Oracle Technologiebasis einer Anwendung administrieren

Oracle-Datenbank
Oracle Fusion Middleware
auf einen Blick – auf einen Klick
einfach die Routinearbeit machen (lassen)
überwachen
konfigurieren
Fehler erkennen und beheben

 

Anwendungsadministratoren sind (oft) keine Oracle-Administratoren, sollen aber den komplexen Technologiestack (Datenbank, Middleware) beherrschen.

Oracle-Administratoren sind häufig gezwungen, Routine-Aufgaben stupide “durch zu klicken” oder Scripte zu erstellen und diese zu pflegen.

Die Antwort auf dieses Dilemma: quasiAdmin!

Dashboard im quasiAdmin

Dashboard im quasiAdmin

War bisher quasiAdmin nur ein Bundle aus quasiDBA für die Datenbank-Administration und quasiMWA für die Middleware, so zeigen wir zur DOAG-Konferenz 2014 mit quasiAdmin die logische Fortsetzung unserer Lösung: alle Technologiekomponenten einer Anwendung in einem Werkzeug, erweitert um die Möglichkeit, Software-Komponenten in alle Schichten zu installieren.

intuitve Benutzeroberfläche
Routineaufgaben effizient lösen
Probleme aufzeigen – mit einem Klick lösen
Administration ohne Expertenwissen
Best Practice Lösungen aus dem Anwendungssupport

In der Regel existiert mehr als eine Instanz der Anwendung – die einzelnen Instanzen teilen sich Teile der Infrastrukur. Indem quasiAdmin die Anwendung in das Zentrum aller Aktivitäten stellt, unterstützt er den Anwendungsadministrator, der “nebenher” auch die Oracle-Technologiebasis administrieren soll.

Modular

quasiAdmin ist modular aufgebaut, so dass die Komponenten quasiAdmin/DBA bzw. quasiAdmin/MWA die bisherigen Produkte quasiDBA bzw. quasiMWA ersetzen können; vorhandene Lizenzen sind entsprechend weiter gültig. Ebenso ist es möglich, quasiAdmin so zu lizenzieren, dass nur ausgewählte Funktionsbereiche verfügbar sind.

Effizienz durch Quicktasks

Mit dem quasiAdmin können über die Dashboards die aktuellen Zustände einer Produktionsumgebung abgefragt und dargestellt werden. Um auf besondere Umstände schnell reagieren zu können oder um immer wiederkehrende Aufgaben durchzuführen, gibt es im quasiAdmin die Möglichkeit der Einbindung von Quicktasks. Beispiele für solche Anwendungsszenarien sind:

  • Löschen von temporären Verzeichnissen und Log-Verzeichnissen
  • Anpassung von Parametern (Tablespace, Heapsize, …)
  • Starten und Stoppen von einem oder mehreren Servern
  • Verteilung von Anwendungen auf mehrere Server

Eine Quicktask beinhaltet die Ausführung von einem oder mehreren Arbeitsschritten auf einem Server. Dabei können sowohl vorgegebene Funktionen als auch Skripte genutzt werden.

quasiAdmin-Quicktasks

Installation von Standards (Anpassung des Reports Fonts Handlings unter Linux)

Wer braucht es?

quasiAdmin ist keine Alternative zu Oracle Enterprise Manager, Grid Control oder ähnlichen Administrationswerkzeugen. Diese stellen als Universalwerkzeuge alle möglichen Features und Optionen zur Verfügung, um alle denkbaren Aufgaben zu lösen. Für den Anwendungsadministrator bedeutet dies aber unnötige Komplexität, Risiko und Aufwand – quasiAdmin schafft Effizienz durch Konzentration auf das Wesentliche und vorgedachte Standard-Lösungen.

Im Kontext der Oracle Embedded Software License (ESL) dürfen die bekannten Oracle-Werkzeuge vom Endkunden nicht verwendet werden. quasiAdmin wandelt diese Einschränkung in einen Mehrwert, indem die Reduktion der verfügbaren Optionen auf das notwendige Minimum zu mehr Effizienz in der Administration führt. Aber auch ohne die ESL-Restriktionen kann quasiAdmin für Softwarehersteller, die auf Oracle setzen, eine Bereicherung sein. quasiAdmin wird dann als Bestandteil der Partner-Lösung ausgeliefert und gebrandet – Mehr dazu unter Angebot für Oracle Partner.